This past weekend Michigan joined ten other states in the sale and use of recreational cannabis sales.
Day one of recreational marijuana sales in Michigan totaled $221,000 in sales this past Sunday morning from three licensed dispensaries in Ann Arbor: Arbor Wellness, Exclusive Brands, and Greenstone Provisions. Sunday's total did not include the $22,100 paid to the state of Michigan, the $14,586 accrued by 6% sales tax, nor the 10% excise tax required by the Marijuana Regulatory Agency. Estimates from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services say that the Michigan Marijuana market will serve nearly 1.5 million recreational marijuana consumers in that region.
Marijuana Banned in Some Areas
Voters backed marijuana legalization in 2018 with an option for local jurisdictions can opt-out of sales within the new legal state.
Reports from USATODAY, say that 80 percent of the Michigan municipalities have opted out of the sale of marijuana in their municipal borders.
A Few Simple Guidelines
In the state of Michigan, you must be 21 and older to purchase or possess cannabis. Under Michigan regulation, residents will be able to legally maintain 2.5 ounces on their person at a time and have up to 10 ounces at home.
Under the guidelines, the state is allowing property owners to ban tenants from using marijuana inside of rental properties in addition to employers prohibiting employees from having THC in their systems while employed with them.